Australia Map: Regions, Geography, Facts & Figures

Australia, also known as the Commonwealth of Australia, is the largest country in Oceania. The Australian continent is surrounded by the south Pacific Ocean on the east and the Indian Ocean on the west. It is made up of six states and two territories, including the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, with a federal parliamentary system of government. The capital city of Australia is Canberra.

It has a diverse population of over 25 million people, with English as the official language, and a rich indigenous history. Australia's economy is largely driven by the service sector, with industries such as mining, agriculture, and tourism also playing important roles. The country is home to many unique animal species, including kangaroos, koalas, and wombats. Overall, Australia is a vibrant and dynamic country with much to offer, including the Great Barrier Reef, Uluru, and the Outback.

If you want to discover more in-depth information on Australia as a continent, check out our Australia Profile!

Test your continent knowledge with our Australia geography quiz, Australian Animals!

Map of Australia

History of Australia

Australia has a rich history dating back over 60,000 years, with the indigenous Aboriginal people being the original inhabitants of the land. In 1770, the British navigator Captain James Cook claimed the eastern part of Australia for Great Britain. The country became a federation in 1901, with six colonies coming together to form the Commonwealth of Australia.

Geography of Australia

Australia has a land area of over 7.6 million square kilometers, making it the sixth-largest country in the world. The country is home to some of the world's most breathtaking natural wonders, including Uluru, the Great Barrier Reef, and the Great Dividing Range. The country is also home to many national parks, mountain ranges, and coral reefs. Australia is divided into six states and two territories, including New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory, and the Northern Territory.

Tourist Attractions in Australia

Australia is a popular tourist destination, offering visitors a wide range of attractions to explore. Some of the must-visit places in Australia include Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Cairns, Adelaide, and Hobart. Visitors can also explore the Outback, see kangaroos in the wild, or enjoy the beaches of the Gold Coast. A visit to the Great Barrier Reef is a must-do for anyone visiting Australia, and major cities like Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, and Hobart shouldn’t be missed.

Twelve Apostles in Australia
Image Source: Getty Images

People Also Ask...

If you're inspecting continent maps of Australia, you may have some queries about the region. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions, along with their answers.

Is Australia Bigger Than the U.S.?

Australia is not bigger than the United States in terms of land area. The United States is the third largest country in the world by land area, covering approximately 9.8 million square kilometers. In comparison, Australia is the sixth largest country in the world by land area, covering approximately 7.7 million square kilometers. However, Australia does have the largest coral reef system in the world, the Great Barrier Reef, which is over 2,300 kilometers long.

What Are the 8 States of Australia?

Australia has six states and two territories. The six states are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia. The two territories are the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

Each state and territory has its own capital city, and they are all governed by a parliamentary system. Australia's government is based on the British parliamentary system, with a constitutional monarchy and a federal system of government.

What Are the 3 Closest Countries to Australia?

The three closest countries to Australia are Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, and East Timor. Indonesia is the closest, with a distance of only 5.8 km between the two countries at their closest points. Papua New Guinea is located to the north of Australia, and East Timor is located to the northwest. The proximity of these countries has led to strong cultural and economic ties between them and Australia.

What Countries Border Australia?

Australia is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean to the east, the Indian Ocean to the west, and the Southern Ocean to the south. The closest countries to Australia are Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, and East Timor. To the south is New Zealand. While Australia does not share land borders with any other country, it does have maritime borders with East Timor, Indonesia, and Papua New Guinea.

Australia Information

Encyclopedia: Australia

In-depth entries covering: Economy, Government, History, Land & People: U.S. State Department Notes: Australia

Current government officials: Australia

More on Australia: Great Barrier Reef · Tasmania ·

Related to Australia: Australian External Territories