Pacific Islands and Australia Map

Pacific Islands and Australia Profile: History · Government · Economy · Population

The Pacific Islands are a collection of beautiful and diverse countries and territories located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. These islands are known for their stunning natural beauty, rich cultural heritage, and unique ecosystems. The region includes thousands of islands, each with their own unique traditions, languages, and customs, and many of which are home to indigenous communities. The Pacific Islands are a popular destination for tourists looking for an escape to paradise, and they offer a wealth of opportunities for exploration, adventure, and relaxation.

Map of Pacific Islands and Australia

What Is Considered South Pacific?

The South Pacific is a region of the Pacific Ocean that includes parts of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. It is generally considered to encompass the area south of the equator and east of Australia and Papua New Guinea. The region includes thousands of islands, many of which are home to indigenous communities with their own distinct traditions and languages.

What Are the 14 Pacific Island Countries?

The 14 Pacific island countries are Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Cook Islands, and Niue. These countries are located in the southwestern Pacific Ocean and are known for their natural beauty and rich cultural heritage.

What Are the Three Major Pacific Islands?

The three major Pacific islands are Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, and Fiji. Papua New Guinea is the largest and most populous of the three, with a diverse population of over 800 different languages. New Caledonia is a French territory known for its stunning beaches and coral reefs. Fiji is a popular tourist destination known for its crystal clear waters, white sand beaches, and friendly locals.

What Are the 7 Polynesian Islands?

Polynesia is a subregion of Oceania, made up of more than 1,000 islands scattered over the central and southern Pacific Ocean. The seven Polynesian islands are Samoa, Tonga, Cook Islands, French Polynesia, Niue, Tokelau, and Tuvalu. These islands share a common culture, language, and history, and are recognized for their unique traditions and stunning views.

Test your continent knowledge with our Pacific Ocean Quiz!

Pacific Islands and Australia Information

Encyclopedia: Pacific Islands and Australia
In-depth entries covering: Economy, Government, History, Land & People

More on Pacific Islands and Australia: Oceania · Australasia ·

Maps - Pacific Islands and Australia

New Zealand
Marshall Islands

Papua New Guinea
Solomon Islands

Territories & Dependencies

American Samoa (U.S.)
Christmas Island (Aus.)
Cocos (Keeling) Islands (Aus.)
Cook Islands (N.Z.)
French Polynesia (Fr.)
Guam (U.S.)
Northern Mariana Islands (U.S.)

New Caledonia (Fr.)
Niue (N.Z.)
Norfolk Island (Aus.)
Pitcairn (U.K.)
Tokelau (N.Z.)
Wallis and Futuna (Fr.)

Related Content

Map: Marshall IslandsMap: MicronesiaMap: GuamMap: Northern Mariana IslandsMap: PalauMap: Papua New GuineaMap: NauruMap: Solomon IslandsMap: TuvaluMap: VanuatuMap: FijiMap: Wallis and FutunaMap: TokelauMap: SamoaMap: NiueMap: TongaMap: American SamoaMap: Cook IslandsMap: New CaledoniaMap: French PolynesiaMap: KiribatiMap: Pitcairn IslandsMap: AustraliaMap: AustraliaMap: New ZealandMap: New Zealand