Europe Map: Regions, Geography, Facts & Figures

Europe is a continent located in the Northern Hemisphere and mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere. It is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, and the Mediterranean Sea to the south. 

Europe has a total population of over 740 million people and is home to 44 countries, including Russia, France, Germany, and Italy. It is known for its rich history, diverse cultures, and stunning landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower, the Colosseum, and Big Ben.

Test your continent knowledge with our European geography quiz, Can You Name These European Landmarks?

Click on a country for a more detailed map, or try our map index.
Europe MapPortugalIcelandUnited KingdomNorwayFinlandSwedenDenmarkNetherlandsNetherlandsBelgiumLithuaniaLuxembourgLiechtensteinCzech RepublicBosnia and HerzegovinaSerbiaEstoniaLatviaLithuaniaRussiaBelarusMoldovaMoldovaHungaryRomaniaAlbaniaAlbaniaBosnia and HerzegovinaSerbia and MontenegroSwitzerlandFranceLuxembourgMacedoniaMacedoniaArmeniaArmeniaGeorgiaAzerbaijanAzerbaijanCroatiaBulgariaUkraineUkraineTurkeySloveniaSwitzerlandAustriaLiechtensteinSlovakiaCzech RepublicPolandGermanyGreeceItalyVatican CityRussiaAndorraSpainMaltaMaltaSan MarinoMonacoChannel Islands: Jersey and GuernseyGibraltarIsle of ManIrelandFaeroe IslandsJan MayenSvalbard

History of Europe

Europe has a long and fascinating history, with evidence of human life dating back to the Paleolithic era. Over the centuries, many empires have risen and fallen in Europe, including the Roman Empire, the Byzantine Empire, and the Holy Roman Empire. Europe has also been the site of many major historical events, such as the French Revolution, World War I, and World War II.

European Union

The European Union is a political and economic union of 27 member states located primarily in Europe. The EU was established in the aftermath of World War II to promote peace, stability, and economic cooperation among its members across the political map of Europe.

Geography of Europe

Europe is a diverse continent, with a range of landscapes, climates, and ecosystems. The continent is home to several mountain ranges, including the Alps, the Ural Mountains, and the Carpathians. Europe also has several major rivers, including the Danube, the Rhine, and the Volga.

Tourist Attractions in Europe

There are countless tourist attractions in Europe, ranging from historic landmarks to natural wonders. Some of the most popular attractions include the following.

European Major Cities

According to the world map, Europe is home to many major and capital cities, including Paris, London, Berlin, Madrid, Rome, and Moscow. Each city has its own unique history, culture, and tourist sites.

The Alps

The Alps are a mountain range in central Europe that are known for their stunning natural beauty. Visitors can ski, hike, or simply enjoy the breathtaking views.

Mediterranean Sea

The Mediterranean Sea is a popular tourist destination, with beautiful beaches, historic towns, and delicious cuisine. Some of the most popular destinations include the French Riviera, the Amalfi Coast, and the Greek Islands.

The Baltic States

The Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania are home to many historic and cultural attractions, including medieval castles, art museums, and gorgeous old town centers.

Traditional dutch windmills and houses
Image Source: Getty Images

People Also Ask...

If you're inspecting a map of Europe, you may have some queries about the region. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions, along with their answers.

How Many Countries Are Exactly in Europe?

There are 44 countries in Europe, ranging from large countries like Russia and France to tiny city-states like Monaco and San Marino. The exact definition of "Europe" is somewhat vague, as some countries (such as Turkey) are partially located on the European continent but are generally considered to be part of Asia.

What are the 44 countries in Europe? The country maps of Europe are:

Note: Cyprus and Kosovo are not included in this list, as Cyprus is geographically a part of Asia, and Kosovo, while being in the European continent, is only a partially-recognized independent state at the time of writing. However, some geographers do include them in the European countries' roster.

What Are the 5 Major Countries in Europe?

The "Big 5" countries in Europe are the five largest economies in the European Union: Germany, France, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom. These countries are also some of the most populous in Europe and are significant players in international politics and economics.

Is Russia a Part of Europe?

Russia is a country with territory in both Europe and Asia. Although the majority of its population and land area are located in Asia, about a quarter of its territory and population are located in Europe. Therefore, Russia is considered to be a transcontinental country with cultural, historical, and economic ties to both continents.

What Are the 7 Regions of Europe?

Europe can be divided into seven regions based on geography, history, and culture. These regions are Nordic Countries, Eastern Europe, Central Europe, Southern Europe, Western Europe, British Isles, and the Baltics. Each region has its own unique characteristics and traditions, making Europe a diverse and fascinating continent to explore.

Territory and Dependency Maps: Europe