Kings of Israel and Judah

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The Kingdoms of Israel

The historical kingdom of Israel existed as a united kingdom for only a brief period of time. As related in the Old Testament and the Hebrew Bible, it lasted for just a few generations. According to archaeologists, the Israelite kingdom might never have been unified; the division between Judah and Israel may have been always been the historical fact. We have kept the traditional list here with the House of David ruling a unified Israel, but it may have been the case that David ruled just in Judah. 

Kings Before Division of Kingdom

  • Saul: First King of Israel; son of Kish; father of Ish-Bosheth, Jonathan and Michal.
  • Ish-Bosheth (or Eshbaal): King of Israel; son of Saul.
  • David: King of Judah; later of Israel; son of Jesse; husband of Abigail, Ahinoam, Bathsheba, Michal, etc.; father of Absalom, Adonijah, Amnon, Solomon, Tamar, etc.
  • Solomon: King of Israel and Judah; son of David; father of Rehoboam.
  • Rehoboam: Son of Solomon; during his reign the kingdom was divided into Judah and Israel.

Kings of Judah (Southern Kingdom)

Kings of Israel (Northern Kingdom)


Sources +