Breeders' Cup Championship

Updated September 27, 2017 | Infoplease Staff


Juvenile Fillies





Filly & Mare Turf


Inaugurated on Nov. 10, 1984, the Breeders' Cup World Thoroughbred Championships consists of eight races on one track on one day late in the year to determine thoroughbred racing's principle champions.

The Breeders’ Cup has been (will be) held at the following tracks (in alphabetical order): Aqueduct Racetrack (N.Y.) in 1985; Arlington Park (Ill.) in 2002; Belmont Park (N.Y.) in 1990, ‘95, 2001 and ‘05; Churchill Downs (Ky.) in 1988, ‘91, ‘94, ‘98, 2000 and ‘06; Gulfstream Park (Fla.) in 1989, ‘92 and ‘99; Hollywood Park (Calif.) in 1984, ‘87 and ‘97; Lone Star Park (Texas) in 2004; Monmouth Park (N.J.) in 2007; Santa Anita Park (Calif.) in 1986, ‘93 and 2003 and Woodbine (Toronto) in 1996.

Horses with most wins: Bayakoa, Da Hoss, Lure, Miesque and Tiznow (2).

Trainers with most wins: D. Wayne Lukas (17); Shug McGaughey (8); Neil Drysdale and Richard Mandella (6); Bill Mott (5); Ron McAnally (4); Bob Baffert, Pascal Bary, Francois Boutin, Patrick Byrne, Andre Fabre, Aidan O’Brien and Sir Michael Stoute (3).

Jockeys with most wins: Jerry Bailey (14); Pat Day (12); Mike Smith (10); Chris McCarron (9); Gary Stevens (8); Eddie Delahoussaye, Laffit Pincay Jr., Jose Santos and Pat Valenzuela (7); Corey Nakatani (5); Angel Cordero Jr., Craig Perret and John Velazquez (4); Frankie Dettori, Michael Kinane, Randy Romero and Alex Solis (3).

The Triple CrownThoroughbred RacingAnnual Money Leaders
Sources +