Distances: one mile (1984-85, 87); 11/16 miles (1986 and since 1988).

Year Winner (Margin)Time Jockey Trainer 2nd place 3rd place
1984 Chief's Crown (3/4)1:361/5 Don MacBeth Roger Laurin Tank's Prospect Spend A Buck
1985 Tasso (ns)1:361/5 Laffit Pincay Jr. Neil Drysdale Storm Cat Scat Dancer
1986 Capote (11/4)1:434/5Laffit Pincay Jr. D. Wayne Lukas Qualify Alysheba
1987 Success Express (13/4)1:351/5 Jose Santos D. Wayne Lukas Regal Classic Tejano
1988 Is It True (11/4)1:463/5 Laffit Pincay Jr. D. Wayne Lukas Easy Goer Tagel
1989 Rhythm (2)1:433/5 Craig Perret Shug McGaughey Grand Canyon Slavic
1990 Fly So Free (3)1:432/5 Jose Santos Scotty Schulhofer Take Me Out Lost Mountain
1991 Arazi (43/4)1:443/5 Pat Valenzuela Francois Boutin Bertrando Snappy Landing
1992 Gilded Time (3/4)1:432/5 Chris McCarron Darrell Vienna It'sali'lknownfact River Special
1993 Brocco (5)1:424/5Gary Stevens Randy Winick Blumin Affair Tabasco Cat
1994 Timber Country (1/2)1:442/5 Pat Day D. Wayne Lukas Eltish Tejano Run
1995Unbridled's Song (nk)1:413/5 Mike SmithJames RyersonHennessyEditor's Note
1996Boston Harbor (nk)1:432/5 Jerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasAcceptableOrdway
1997Favorite Trick (51/2)1:412/5 Pat DayPatrick ByrneDawson's LegacyNationalore
1998Answer Lively (hd)1:44Jerry BaileyBobby BarnettAly's AlleyCat Thief
1999Anees (21/2)1:421/5Gary StevensAlex Hassinger Jr.Chief SeattleHigh Yield
2000Macho Uno (ns)1:42Jerry BaileyJoe OrsenoPoint GivenStreet Cry
2001Johannesburg (21/4)1:421/5Michael KinaneAidan O'BrienRepent Siphonic
2002 Vindication (23/54)1:493/5 Mike Smith Bob Baffert Kafwain Hold That Tiger
2003 Action This Day (21/4)1:433/5David Flores Richard Mandella Minister Eric Chapel Royal

Breeders' Cup ChampionshipJuvenile Fillies
Breeders' Cup Championship
See also: