The Triple Crown

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Triple Crown Winners

Triple Crown Near Misses

The Triple Crown Challenge (1987-93)

Kentucky Derby

Preakness Stakes

Belmont Stakes

The term “Triple Crown” was coined by sportswriter Charles Hatton while covering the 1930 victories of Gallant Fox in the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. Before then, only Sir Barton (1919) had won all three races in the same year. Since then, nine horses have won the Triple Crown. Two trainers, James (Sunny Jim) Fitzsimmons and Ben A. Jones, have saddled two Triple Crown champions, while Eddie Arcaro is the only jockey to ride two champions.

Sources +