Breeder's Cup Mile Results


Year Winner (Margin)Time Jockey Trainer 2nd place 3rd place
1984 Royal Heroine (11/2)1:323/5 Fernando Toro John Gosden Star Choice Cozzene
1985 Cozzene (21/4)1:35 Walter Guerra Jan Nerud Al Mamoon*Shadeed
1986 Last Tycoon (hd)1:351/5 Yves St.-Martin Robert Collet Palace Music Fred Astaire
1987 Miesque (31/2)1:324/5Freddie Head Francois Boutin Show Dancer Sonic Lady
1988 Miesque (4)1:383/5 Freddie Head Francois Boutin Steinlen Simply Majestic
1989 Steinlen (3/4)1:371/5 Jose Santos D. Wayne Lukas Sabona Most Welcome
1990 Royal Academy (nk)1:351/5 Lester Piggott M.V. O'Brien Itsallgreektome Priolo
1991 Opening Verse (21/4)1:372/5 Pat Valenzuela Dick Lundy Val des Bois Star of Cozzene
1992 Lure (3)1:324/5Mike Smith Shug McGaughey Paradise Creek Brief Truce
1993 Lure (21/4)1:332/5 Mike Smith Shug McGaughey Ski Paradise Fourstars Allstar
1994 Barathea (hd)1:342/5 Frankie Dettori Luca Cumani Johann Quatz Unfinished Symph
1995Ridgewood Pearl (2)1:433/5 John Murtagh John OxxFastnessSayyedati
1996Da Hoss (11/2)1:354/5 Gary StevensMichael DickinsonSpinning WorldSame Old Wish
1997Spinning World (2)1:323/5Cash AsmussenJonathan PeaseGeriDecorated Hero
1998Da Hoss (hd)1:351/5John VelazquezMichael DickinsonHawksley HillLabeeb
1999Silic (nk)1:341/5Corey NakataniJulio CananiTuzlaDocksider
2000War Chant (nk)1:343/5Gary StevensNeil DrysdaleNorth East BoundDansili
2001Val Royal (13/4)1:32Jose Valdivia Julio CananiForbidden AppleBach
2002 Domedriver (3/4) 1:364/5Thierry Thulliez Pascal Bary Rock of Gibraltar Good Journey
2003 Six Perfections (3/4)1:334/5Jerry Bailey Pascal Bary Touch of the Blues Century City
*In 1985, 2nd place finisher Palace Music was disqualified for interference and placed 9th.

SprintBreeders' Cup ChampionshipDistaff
Breeders' Cup Championship
Sources +
See also: