1997-98 Season: Heisman Trophy Vote

Players of the Year

Charles Woodson, MichiganCamp, Heisman
Peyton Manning, TennesseeMaxwell

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback)Peyton Manning, Tennessee
Unitas Award (Senior QB)Peyton Manning, Tennessee
Walker Award (Running Back)Ricky Williams, Texas
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver)Randy Moss, Marshall
Groza Award (Kicker)Martin Gramatica, Kansas St.
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)Aaron Taylor, Nebraska
Lombardi Award (Lineman)Grant Wistrom, Nebraska
Butkus Award (Linebacker)Andy Katzenmoyer, Ohio St.
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)Charles Woodson,
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player)Charles Woodson,
Payton Award (IAA Player of the Year)Brian Finneran,
Buchanan Award (IAA Defensive Player)Chris McNeil,
North Carolina A&T
Hill Trophy (Div. II Player of the Year)Irv Sigler,
Bloomsburg University

Coach of the Year

Mike Price, Washington St.FWAA, Dodd,
The Sporting News
Lloyd Carr, MichiganAFCA, Camp, Maxwell

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Top 10 Vote-Getters

Charles Woodson, MichiganDB433209981815
Peyton Manning, TennesseeQB2812631741543
Ryan Leaf, Washington St.QB70205241861
Randy Moss, MarshallWR17205241861
Ricky Williams, TexasRB43161135
Curtis Enis, Penn St.RB3182065
Tim Dwight, IowaWR531132
Cade McNown, UCLAQB071226
Tim Couch, KentuckyQB051222
Amos Zereoue, West VirginiaRB311021
Note: Manning and Dwight were seniors. Enis, Leaf, McNown, Williams and Woodson were juniors. Couch, Moss and Zereoue were sophomores.

NCAA Division I-A Team Leaders1997-98 SeasonConsensus All-America Team
1997-98 Season