1960 College Football Recap

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Final AP Top 20

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams

Major Conference Champions

Heisman Trophy Voting

Other Major Award Winners

Consensus All-America Team

For the second time in three seasons, a former Red Blaik assistant led his team to the national championship.

In 1958 it had been Paul Dietzel at LSU. In '60 it was Murray Warmath at Minnesota. Meanwhile, Blaik had retired in '58 after guiding the Cadets to a record of 8–0–1 and a No.3 ranking.

Minnesota's upset of Big Ten rival Iowa was the year's pivotal game. When the two teams played in early November, Iowa was No.1, Minnesota was No.3 and both sides were 6–0. The Gophers scored three touchdowns in the second half to win, 27–10, but then lost to Purdue the following week. Nevertheless, when the regular season was over Minnesota was on top.

Mississippi went undefeated in 10 games, winning nine and tying LSU, 6–6, on two field goals. On New Year's, Ole Miss had a better day than Minnesota, beating Rice in the Cotton Bowl while the Gophers, playing in their first postseason game ever, lost to Washington in the Rose Bowl. In light of those results, the Football Writers Association of America, voting after the bowls, made the Rebels their national champion.

No.5 Missouri beat No.4 Navy by a touchdown in the Orange Bowl despite the presence of Heisman winner Joe Bellino in the Middie backfield.

Arkansas, one of three teams to tie for the SWC championship in 1959, won the conference outright in '60. However, the Hogs lost the Cotton Bowl 7–6 to Duke in the last three minutes.

Sources +