1957 College Football Recap

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Final AP Top 20

Bowl Games with Top 20 Teams

Major Conference Champions

Heisman Trophy Voting

Other Major Award Winners

Consensus All-America Team

After 47 consecutive victories, Oklahoma's record-setting win streak came to an end on Nov.16, 1957.

A year after the Sooners had handed Notre Dame its worst-ever defeat at home (40–0), the Irish paid them back with a 7–0 shutout at Owen Field in Norman. The lone touchdown was scored by Dick Lynch with 3:50 left in the game.

The defeat was Oklahoma's only loss in 10 regular season games, but it was enough to prevent a third straight national title. The Sooners did win the Orange Bowl, however, beating Duke 48–21.

AP and UP disagreed on who the new Number One team should be, AP selected Auburn (10–0) but UP liked Ohio State (8–1). Michigan State (also 8–1) placed third in both polls.

Auburn began the decade by going (0–10). Shug Jordan became coach in 1951 and had the Tigers in the Gator Bowl by '53. Four years later, they not only won their first national championship, but their first SEC title as well. Unfortunately the program was on probation and the team was ineligible for the Sugar Bowl.

Ohio State lost its opening game to TCU then won eight straight, including a come-from-behind, 17–13 win over No.6 Iowa for the Big Ten title. Coach of the Year Woody Hayes sent his Buckeyes into the Rose Bowl as heavy favorites, but they were lucky to beat Oregon, 10–7.

Sources +