The National Park System

Updated August 5, 2020 | Infoplease Staff
Source: Department of the Interior, National Park Service.


A Slideshow Tour of U.S. National Parks

Ten Most Visited National Parks

National Historical Parks

National Monuments

National Preserves

National Reserves

National Military Parks

National Battlefields

National Battlefield Parks

National Battlefield Site

National Historic Sites

National Memorials

National Seashores


National Lakeshores

National Park System Rivers

National Historic Area

National Heritage Areas

National Recreation Areas

National Heritage Corridors

National Historic Trails

National Scenic Trails

International Historic Site

International Park

National Cemeteries

Other Parks

The National Park System of the United States is administered by the National Park Service, a bureau of the Department of the Interior. Started with the establishment of Yellowstone National Park on March 1, 1872, the system includes not only the most extraordinary and spectacular scenic exhibits in the United States, but also a large number of sites distinguished for their historic or prehistoric importance, scientific interest, or superior recreational assets. The National Park System is made up of 388 areas covering more than 84 million acres in every state except Delaware. It also includes areas in the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. A list of the areas follows, excluding those without “national“ status. See also the excellent website of the Park Service:

Sources +