Sites of the Modern Olympic Games

Updated February 28, 2017 | Infoplease Staff
Return to: Olympics 2012

Related Links

Summer Olympics Through The Years

Find the locations for all the Olympic games since 1896.

Summer Games

Year Site
1896 Athens, Greece
1900Paris, France
1904St. Louis, Mo.
1908London, England
1912Stockholm, Sweden
1920Antwerp, Belgium
1924Paris, France
1928Amsterdam, the Netherlands
1932Los Angeles, Calif.
1936Berlin, Germany
1948London, England
1952Helsinki, Finland
1956Melbourne, Australia
1960Rome, Italy
1964Tokyo, Japan
1968Mexico City, Mexico
1972Munich, West Germany
1976Montreal, Canada
1980Moscow, USSR
1984Los Angeles, Calif.
1988Seoul, South Korea
1992Barcelona, Spain
1996Atlanta, Ga.
2000Sydney, Australia
2004Athens, Greece
2008Beijing, China
2012London, England
2016Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Winter Games

Year Site
1924Chamonix, France
1928St. Moritz, Switzerland
1932Lake Placid, N.Y.
1936Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
1948St. Moritz, Switzerland
1952Oslo, Norway
1956Cortina, Italy
1960Squaw Valley, Calif.
1964Innsbruck, Austria
1968Grenoble, France
1972Sapporo, Japan
1976Innsbruck, Austria
1980Lake Placid, N.Y.
1984Sarajevo, Yugoslavia
1988Calgary, Canada
1992Albertville, France
1994Lillehammer, Norway
1998Nagano, Japan
2002Salt Lake City, Utah
2006Turin, Italy
2010Vancouver, Canada
2014Sochi, Russia
2018 Pyeongchang, South Korea

More about the 2012 Summer Olympics

Sources +