Olympic Games: Years and Location

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff
1896 Athens, Greece
1900 Paris, France
1904 St. Louis, United States
1906 Athens, Greece
1908 London, Great Britain
1912 Stockholm, Sweden
1920 Antwerp, Belgium
1924 Chamonix, France (W)
1924 Paris, France (S)
1928 St. Moritz, Switzerland (W)
1928 Amsterdam, Netherlands (S)
1932 Lake Placid, United States (W)
1932 Los Angeles, United States (S)
1936 Garmisch-Partenkirchen,
Germany (W)
1936 Berlin, Germany (S)
1948 St. Moritz, Switzerland (W)
1948 London, Great Britain (S)
1952 Oslo, Norway (W)
1952 Helsinki, Finland (S)
1956 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy (W)
1956 Melbourne, Australia (S)
1960 Squaw Valley, United States (W)
1960 Rome, Italy (S)
1964 Innsbruck, Austria (W)
1964 Tokyo, Japan (S)
1968 Grenoble, France (W)
1968 Mexico City, Mexico (S)
1972 Sapporo, Japan (W)
1972 Munich, Germany (S)
1976 Innsbruck, Austria (W)
1976 Montreal, Canada (S)
1980 Lake Placid, United States (W)
1980 Moscow, USSR (S)
1984 Sarajevo, Yugoslavia (W)
1984 Los Angeles, United States (S)
1988 Calgary, Canada (W)
1988 Seoul, South Korea (S)
1992 Albertville, France (W)
1992 Barcelona, Spain (S)
1994 Lillehammer, Norway (W)
1996 Atlanta, United States (S)
1998 Nagano, Japan (W)
2000 Sydney, Australia (S)
2002 Salt Lake City, United States (W)
2004Athens, Greece (S)
2006Turin, Italy (W)
2008Beijing, China (S)
2010Vancouver, Canada (W)
(W)—Site of Winter Games. (S)—Site of Summer Games. The nine cities bidding for the 2012 Olympic Summer Games are: Paris, London, Moscow, Madrid, New York, Istanbul, Leipzig, Rio de Janeiro and Havana. The IOC will select the host city for the 2012 games on July 6, 2005.

The Olympic Games SummaryWinter Games: Gold Medals
The Olympic Games Summary
Sources +