2002 National Medal of Technology Recipients

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Calvin H. Carter, Cree, Inc., Durham, N.C., for pioneering the development of silicon carbide semiconductor materials.

Harun S. Gandhi, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, Mich., for researching automotive technology to improve environmental standards.

Carver A. Mead, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif., for contributions to the microelectronics field.

Team of: Nick Holonyak, Jr. (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), M. George Craford (LumiLeds Lighting, San Jose, Calif.) ,and Russell Dean Dupuis (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta), for inventions and innovations in the LED technology field.

Team of: John J, Mooney (Wyckoff, N.J.) and Carl D. Keith (Marco Island, Fla.), Engelhard Corporation, for being the principal inventors of the three-way catalytic converter.

Du Pont, Wilmington, Del., for technology leadership in the phase out and replacement of chloroflurocarbons (CFCs).

Sources +