2003 National Medal of Technology Recipients

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill., for engineering research leading to improved safety of aircraft structures

Watts S. Humphrey, Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa., for applying the principles of engineering and science to software development

Robert M. Metcalfe, Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, Mass., for his work in the invention and development of the Ethernet

Team of: Rodney D. Bagley, retired–Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y.; Irwin Lachman, retired–Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y.; Ronald M. Lewis, former employee—Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., for design enabling auto manufacturers to mass-produce catalytic converters

UOP LLC, Des Plaines, Ill., for more than 85 years of innovation in petrochemical industries

Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Madison, Wis., for over 75 years of support to University of Wisconsin faculty and student research

Sources +