2001 National Medal of Technology Recipients

Updated June 26, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

John A. Ewen, President, Catalyst Research Corporation, for his discoveries in the field of metallocene catalysis, which have revolutionized the production of polyethylene and polypropylene plastics and stimulated the growth of the entire industry.

Arun N. Netravali, Chief Scientist, Lucent Technologies, and Past President of Bell Labs, for pioneering contributions to the technology involved in compressing images for digital and high-definition television, video conferencing systems, streaming video over the Internet, and multimedia computers; and for technical expertise and leadership that have kept Bell Labs at the forefront in communications technology.

Sidney Pestka, M.D., University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, for pioneering achievements that led to the development of interferons—substances produced by cells that act to prevent viral replication—for the treatment of cancers, viral diseases such as hepatitis B and C, and multiple sclerosis; for fundamental technologies leading to other biotherapeutics; and for his basic, overall contribution to the development of the biotechnology industry.

Jerry M. Woodall, C. Baldwin Sawyer Professor of Electrical Engineering, Yale University, for the invention and development of compound semiconductor materials and devices, such as light-emitting diodes, lasers, ultra-fast transistors, and solar cells. His inventions include the infrared LED (light-emitting diode), which is used in CD players, TV remote controls, computer networks, cell phones, and satellites.

The Dow Chemical Company, a leading science and technology company, “for the vision to create great science and innovative technology in the chemical industry and the positive impact that commercialization of this technology has had on society.”

Sources +