Territories, Colonies, and Dependencies

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Source: The World Factbook, 2005

The following is a list of dependencies—territories under the jurisdiction of another country.

Under Australian Jurisdiction (6)

  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • Norfolk Island

Under Danish Jurisdiction (2)

Under Dutch Jurisdiction (2)

Under French Jurisdiction (16)

Under New Zealand Jurisdiction (3)

  • Cook Islands
  • Niue
  • Tokelau

Under Norwegian Jurisdiction (3)

  • Bouvet Island
  • Jan Mayen
  • Svalbard

Under UK Jurisdiction (15)

Under U.S. Jurisdiction (14)

  • Disputed Territories (6): Antarctica, Bajo Nuevo Bank (Petrel Islands), Gaza Strip, Paracel Islands, Serranilla Bank, Spratly Islands, West Bank, Western Sahara


  Political Statistics


Sources +