French Territorial Collectivities

Saint Pierre and Miquelon


The Territorial Collectivity status was created in 1976 for Mayotte; it was conceived as being midway between an Overseas Territory and an Overseas Department.

A Territorial Collectivity is represented in the French National Assembly by a deputy and in the French Senate by a senator. The head of government, the prefect, is appointed by the French government.

French Overseas TerritoriesFranceFrench Possessions