2002–2003 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 2002–2003 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 19, 2003, at New York's Webster Hall.

Direction: Emily Mann, All Over;
Deborah Warner, Medea
Performance: Kathleen Chalfant, Daniel Davis, Christine Ebersole, Valerie Mahaffey, Lynn Redgrave, Brenda Wehle, Talking Heads;
Mos Def, Fucking A;
Rosemary Harris, All Over;
Ty Jones, The Blacks: A Clown Show;
J. Kyle Manzay, The Blacks: A Clown Show;
Stephen Mellor, in Bitter Bierce or, The Friction We Call Grief;
Edward Norton, Burn This;
Jim Norton, Dublin Carol;
Denis O'Hare, Take Me Out;
Jason Petty, Hank Williams: Lost Highway;
Simon Russell Beale, Uncle Vanya;
Fiona Shaw, Medea;
Barry Del Sherman, The Mystery of Attraction;
Design: Kimberly Glennon, costume design The Blacks: A Clown Show;
Anne Lommel, mask design The Blacks: A Clown Show;
Kenneth Posner, sustained excellence of lighting design;
Anthony Ward, set design Uncle Vanya
Special Citations: Art Acuna, Loy Arcenas, Lonnie Carter, Ramon de Ocampo, Ron Domingo, Jojo Gonzalez, Orland Pabotoy, Ralph B. Pena, The Romance of Magno Rubio;
Brooklyn Academy of Music International Programming;
Lisa D'Amour, Katie Pearl, Kathy Randels, Nita and Zita;
David Greenspan, She Stoops to Comedy;
Morgan Jenness, Longtime Support of Playwrights;
John Kani and Winston Ntshona, The Island;
Erika Munk; Editorship of Theater;
Ellen Maddow, Paul Zimet, Diane Beckett, Gary Brownlee, Randolph Curtis Rand, Steven Rattazzi, Tina Shepard, Louise Smith, Nic Ularu, Kiki Smith, Carol Mullins, Karinne Keithley, “Blue” Gene Tyranny, Talking Band's Painted Snake in a Painted Chair
Lifetime Achievement: Mac Wellman
Grants: Collapsable Hole, Galapagos, The Immigrant Theatre Project
Ross Wetzsteon Award: Soho Think Tank's Ice Factory series at the Ohio Theatre

Sources +