2001–2002 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 2001–2002 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 20, 2002, at New York's Webster Hall.

Playwriting: Melissa James Gibson, (sic);
Tony Kushner, Homebody/Kabul
Direction: George C. Wolfe, Topdog/Underdog;
Mary Zimmerman, Metamorphoses
Performance: Bill Camp, Homebody/Kabul;
Reg E. Cathey, James Himelsbach, Karen Kandel, Anthony Mackie, John Seitz, Maria Tucci (ensemble), Talk;
Christopher Donahue, Monster;
Linda Emond, Homebody/Kabul;
Raul Esparza, Tick, Tick…Boom!;
Juliana Francis, Maria del Bosco;
Peter Frechette and Reg Rogers, The Dazzle;
Yvette Ganier, Breath, Boom;
Martha Plimpton, Hobson's Choice;
Jeffrey Wright, Topdog/Underdog
Design: Kevin Adams, sustained excellence of lighting design;
Marilys Ernst, video for Talk;
Angela Moore and Michael Schmelling, set and lighting design of Drummer Wanted;
Whit MacLaughlin, sound design for The Fab 4 Reach the Pearly Gates
Special Citations: A.R.T./NY for support of Off-Broadway theater;
Daniel Aukin and Louisa Thompson, direction and set design, (sic);
Ingmar Bergman and the Royal Dramatic Theatre of Sweden, The Ghost Sonata;
Daniel MacIvor, In on It;
Charles L. Mee and Les Waters, playwriting and direction, Big Love;
Elaine Stritch, Elaine Stritch at Liberty;
The Wooster Group; To You, the Birdie!
Sustained Achievement: Caryl Churchill

Sources +