2003–2004 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 2003–2004 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 17, 2004, at New York's Webster Hall.

Direction: Lee Breuer, Mabou Mines dollHouse;
Moisés Kaufman, I Am My Own Wife
Performance: Viola Davis, Intimate Apparel;
Lisa Emery, Iron;
Jayne Houdyshell, Well;
Sarah Jones, Bridge & Tunnel;
Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife;
Zilah Mendoza, Living Out;
Maude Mitchell, Mabou Mines dollHouse;
Brian F. O'Byrne, Frozen;
Tonya Pinkins, Caroline, or Change;
Lili Taylor, Aunt Dan and Lemon;
Simon Russell Beale, Uncle Vanya;
Shannon Cochran, Michael Shannon, Michael Cullen, Amy Landecker, Reed Birney, Bug;
Ana Reeder, Mary Shultz, Rob Campbell, Daniel Eric Gold, Lee Pace, Rosemarie DeWitt, Small Tragedy
Design: The design team of Bug: Lauren Helpern (sets), Tyler Micoleau (lights), Brian Ronan (sound), Kim Gill (costumes), Faye Armon (props);
Derek McLane, set design I Am My Own Wife, Aunt Dan and Lemon, and Intimate Apparel
Music: Robert Een Hiroshima Maiden
Special Citations: Pieter-Dirk Uys, Foreign AIDS;
Tony Kushner and Jeanine Tesori; Caroline, or Change;
Soho Rep, Molly's Dream;
The Builders Association and motiroti, Alladeen;
Kyle Jarrow and Alex Timbers, A Very Merry Unauthorized Children's Scientology Pageant;
George C. Wolfe, for his stewardship of the Public Theater;
Martin Moran; The Tricky Part;
Terry Nemeth, Play Publishing, TCG
Lifetime Achievement: Mark Russell
Grants: The Civilians, Musicals Tonight, THAW (Theaters Against War)
Ross Wetzsteon Award: St. Ann's Warehouse (Susan Feldman, artistic director)

Sources +