1998–1999 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1998–1999 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 17, 1999, at New York's Webster Hall.

Best Production: The Wooster Group, House/Lights
Playwriting: W. David Hancock, The Race of the Ark Tattoo;
Dare Clubb, Oedipus;
Christopher Durang, Betty's Summer Vacation
Direction: Jim Simpson, Benten Kozo;
Melia Bensussen, The Turn of the Screw;
Nicholas Martin, Betty's Summer Vacation;
Declan Donnellan, Le Cid
Performance: Liev Schreiber, Cymbeline;
Kathleen Chalfant, Wit;
Daniel Gerroll, sustained excellence of performance;
Matthew Maher, The Race of the Ark Tattoo;
Randall Duk Kim, sustained excellence of performance;
Mina Bern, sustained excellence of performance;
Darius de Haas, Running Man;
Viola Davis, Everybody's Ruby;
Kristine Nielson, Betty's Summer Vacation;
Swoosie Kurtz, The Mineola Twins
Design: Thomas Lynch, for sustained excellence of set design;
Michael Chybowski, for sustained excellence of lighting design;
Martin Pakledinaz, costume design for The Misanthrope;
Diedre Murray, score for Running Man
Special Citations: Peggy Shaw, Menopausal Gentleman;
Richard Maxwell, House;
Carmelita Tropicana;
David Cale, Lillian;
Kim Hughes, Sakina's Restaurant;
Aasif Mandvi, Sakina's Restaurant;
Ronnie Burkett; Tinka's New Dress;
Lisa Kron; 2.5 Minute Ride;
Basil Twist; Symphonie Fantastique
Sustained Achievement: Wynn Handman
Ross Wetzsteon Award: Ellie Covan-Dixon Place

Sources +