1997–1998 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1997–1998 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 18, 1998, at New York's Manhattan Center.

Best Play: Richard Foreman, Pearls for Pigs, Benita Canova
Direction: Ivo van Hove, More Stately Mansions;
David Esbjornson, Therese Raquin;
Jo Bonney, sustained excellence of direction
Performance: Lea DeLaria, On the Town;
Mary Testa, On the Town and From Above;
Tim Hopper, More Stately Mansions;
David Patrick Kelly, sustained excellence of performance;
Joseph Wiseman, I Can't Remember Anything;
Heather Gillespie, Mamba's Daughters;
Kate Valk, sustained excellence of performance;
Marie Mullen, The Beauty Queen of Leenane;
Matthew Maguire, I Don't Know Who He Was and I Don't Know What He Said;
Yvette Freeman, Dinah Was;
Adriane Lenox, Dinah Was;
Elizabeth Marvel, Therese Raquin and Misalliance;
J. Smith Cameron, As Bees in Honey Drown;
Brian Murray, sustained excellence of performance;
Joan MacIntosh, More Stately Mansions
Design: Darron L. West, soundscape for Bob;
Mimi Jordan Sherin, lighting design for Bob
Special Citations: Target Margin Theater, Mamba's Daughters;
David Herskovits, Thomas Cabaniss, Lenore Doxsee, Erika Belsey, David Zinn, Tim Schellenbaum, John Cameron Mitchell, Hedwig and the Angry Inch;
Stephen Trask, Hedwig and the Angry Inch;
Mark Bennett, sustained excellence of sound design;
Alan Johnson, sustained excellence of musical direction and pianism;
Karen Finley, The American Chestnut;
Philim McDermott, Lee Simpson, Julian Crouch, Guy Dartnell, Ben Park, and Steve Tiplady, creators of 70 Hill Lane;
Buzz Cohen, distinguished stage management
Sustained Achievement: Jennifer Tipton
Ross Wetzsteon Award: Doug Aibel and the Vineyard Theater for sustained support of artists and creativity in the theater

Sources +