1999–2000 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1999–2000 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 15, 2000, at New York's Webster Hall.

Best Production: Ben Katcho, Michael Gordon, David Lang, Julia Wolfe, Bob McGrath, The Carbon Copy Building
Playwriting: Harley Granville Barker, Waste
Direction: Marion McClinton, Jitney
Performance: Colm Meaney, The Cider House Rules: Part One, Here in St. Cloud's;
Lynne Thigpen, Jar the Floor;
Elizabeth Marvel, A Streetcar Named Desire;
Christopher Evan Welch, A Streetcar Named Desire;
Charlayne Woodard, In the Blood;
Lola Pashalinski, Gertrude and Alice;
Dominique Dibbell, Jet Lag;
Cynthia Hopkins, Another Telepathic Thing;
Debra Monk, The Time of the Cuckoo;
Eddie Korbich, Taking a Chance on Love;
Byron Jennings, Waste;
Eileen Heckart, The Waverly Gallery;
The cast of Jitney, excellence of ensemble performance
Design: Jan Hartley, for sustained excellence of projection design;
Mark Dendy, choreography forThe Wild Party;
Christopher Akerlind, for sustained excellence of lighting design;
David Gallo, for sustained excellence of set design;
Susan Hilferty , for sustained excellence of costume design;
Special Citations: Jan Lauwers/Needcompany, Morning Song;
Sarah E. Johnson, Lava Love;
Joe Mantello and Marc Wolf, Another American: Asking and Telling;
The Builders Association and Diller + Scofidio, Jet Lag;
Jesusa Rodriguez and Liliana Felipe, Las Horas de Belen—A Book of Hours;
Bill Talen; The Reverend Billy;
Maria Irene Fornes; Letters From Cuba;
Deb Margolin, sustained excellence of performance
Sustained Achievement: Ping Chong
Ross Wetzsteon Award: The Foundry

Sources +