2004 Independent Spirit Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 20th Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on Feb. 26, 2005, on Santa Monica beach.

Feature Sideways
First Feature Zach Braff, Garden State
John Cassavetes Award (Feature Less Than $500,000) Jacob Aaron Estes, Mean Creek
Male Lead Paul Giamatti, Sideways
Female Lead Catalina Sandino Moreno, Maria Full of Grace
Supporting Male Thomas Haden Church, Sideways
Supporting Female Virginia Madsen, Sideways
Debut Performance Rodrigo de la Serna, The Motorcycle Diaries
Director Alexander Payne, Sideways
Screenplay Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor, Sideways
First Screenplay Joshua Martson, Maria Full of Grace
Cinematography Eric Gautier, The Motorcycle Diaries
Foreign Film Alejandro Amenábar, The Sea Inside (Spain)
Documentary Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky, Metallica: Some Kind of Monster
Turning Leaf Someone to Watch Award Jem Cohen, Chain
Bravo/American Express Producers Award Gina Kwon,
DIRECTV/IFC Truer Than Fiction Award Zana Briski and Ross Kauffman, Born into Brothels

Sources +