2005 Independent Spirit Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 21st Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on March 4, 2006, on Santa Monica beach.

Feature Brokeback Mountain
First Feature Paul Haggis, Crash
John Cassavetes Award (Feature Less Than $500,000) Mora Stephens, Conventioneers
Male Lead Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote
Female Lead Felicity Huffman, Transamerica
Supporting Male Matt Dillon, Crash
Supporting Female Amy Adams, Junebug
Director Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain
Screenplay Dan Futterman, Capote
First Screenplay Duncan Tucker, Transamerica
Cinematography Robert Elswit, Good Night, and Good Luck
Foreign Film Hany Abu-Assad, Paradise Now (Palestine)
Documentary Alex Gibney, Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room
Turning Leaf Someone to Watch Award Ian Gamazon and Neill Dela Llana, directors, Cavite
Bravo/American Express Producers Award Caroline Baron,
Truer Than Fiction Award Ian Olds and Garrett Scott, Occupation: Dreamland

Sources +