2003 Independent Spirit Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 19th Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on Feb. 28, 2004, on Santa Monica beach.

FeatureLost in Translation
First FeaturePatty Jenkins, Monster
John Cassavetes Award (Feature Less Than $500,000)Thomas McCarthy, The Station Agent
Male LeadBill Murray, Lost in Translation
Female LeadCharlize Theron, Monster
Supporting MaleDjimon Hounsou, In America
Supporting FemaleShohreh Aghdashloo, House of Sand and Fog
Debut PerformanceNikki Reed, Thirteen
DirectorSofia Coppola, Lost in Translation
ScreenplaySofia Coppola, Lost in Translation
First ScreenplayThomas McCarthy, The Station Agent
CinematographyDeclan Quinn, In America
Foreign FilmNiki Caro, Whale Rider (New Zealand)
DocumentaryErrol Morris, The Fog of War
Someone to Watch AwardAndrew Bujalski,, director, Funny Ha Ha
Producers AwardMary Jane Skalski,, The Station Agent and The Jimmy Show
DIRECTV/IFC Truer Than Fiction AwardMegan Mylan and Jon Shenk,, Lost Boys of Sudan
Special Distinction Award21 Grams

Sources +