2002 Independent Spirit Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 18th Independent Spirit Awards, honoring excellence in independent film, took place on March 22, 2003 on Santa Monica beach.

Feature Far from Heaven
First Feature (More Than $500,000) Peter Care, The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys
John Cassavetes Award (Feature Less Than $500,000) Rebecca Miller, Personal Velocity
Male Lead Derek Luke, Antwone Fisher
Female Lead Julianne Moore, Far from Heaven
Supporting Male Dennis Quaid, Far from Heaven
Supporting Female Emily Mortimer, Lovely & Amazing
Debut Performance Nia Vardalos, My Big Fat Greek Wedding
Director Todd Haynes, Far from Heaven
Screenplay Mike White, The Good Girl
First Screenplay Erin Cressida Wilson, Secretary
Cinematography Edward Lachman, Far from Heaven
Foreign Film Alfonso Cuaron, Y Tu Mama Tambien (Mexico)
Documentary Michael Moore, Bowling for Columbine
Someone to Watch Award Przemyslaw Reut, director, Paradox Lake
Motorola Producers Award Effie T. Brown, Real Women Have Curves and Stranger Inside
Truer Than Fiction Award Jennifer Dworkin, Love & Diane

Sources +