2004 Nobel Prize Winners

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
  • Peace: Wangari Maathai (Kenya) “for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace”
  • Literature: Elfriede Jelinek (Austria) “for her musical flow of voices and counter-voices in novels and plays that with extraordinary linguistic zeal reveal the absurdity of society's clichés and their subjugating power”
  • Physics: David J. Gross, H. David Politzer, and Frank Wilczek (all U.S.) “for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction.”
  • Chemistry: Aaron Ciechanover (Israel), Avram Hershko (Israel), and Irwin Rose (U.S.) “for the discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.”
  • Physiology or Medicine: Richard Axel and Linda Buck (both U.S.) “for their discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system.”
  • Economics: Finn E. Kydland (Norway) and Edward C. Prescott (U.S.) “for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles.”

Sources +