2005 Nobel Prize Winners

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
  • Peace: Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt) and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) for “their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”
  • Literature: Harold Pinter (United Kingdom) “who in his plays uncovers the precipice under everyday prattle and forces entry into oppression's closed rooms”
  • Physics: Roy J. Glauber (U.S.) for “his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence,” and John L. Hall (U.S.) and Theodor W. Hänsch (Germany) for “their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique”
  • Chemistry: Yves Chauvin (France), Robert H. Grubbs (U.S.), and Richard R. Schrock (U.S.) for “the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis”
  • Physiology or Medicine: Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren (both Australia) for their discovery that the bacterium Helicobacter pylori causes gastritis and peptic ulcer disease
  • Economics: Robert J. Aumann (U.S.) and Thomas C. Schelling (U.S.) for “having enhanced our understanding of conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis”

Sources +