2003 Nobel Prize Winners

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
  • Peace: Shirin Ebadi (Iran), for her work as a human rights activist and lawyer.
  • Literature: J. M. Coetzee (South Africa).
  • Physics: Alexei A. Abrikosov (Russia, U.S.), Anthony J. Leggett (UK, U.S.), and Vitaly L. Ginzburg (Russia), for theories about superconductivity.
  • Chemistry: Peter Agre and Roderick MacKinnon (both U.S.) for studies on channels in cell walls.
  • Medicine: Paul C. Lauterbur (U.S.) and Sir Peter Mansfield (UK) for discoveries leading to magnetic resonance imaging (MRI).
  • Economics: Robert F. Engle (U.S.) and Clive W. J. Granger (UK), for developing statistical tools to improve analysis of stock prices and other data.

Sources +