1979 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1979 Academy Awards were presented April 14, 1980 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureAll That Jazz, Robert Alan Aurthur, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Apocalypse Now, Francis Coppola, producer; Fred Roos, Gray Frederickson and Tom Sternberg, co-producers (United Artists)
Breaking Away, Peter Yates, producer (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Kramer vs. Kramer, Stanley R. Jaffe, producer (Columbia)
Norma Rae, Tamara Asseyev and Alex Rose, producers (Twentieth Century-Fox)

Kramer vs. Kramer
Archive Photos
Actor in a Leading RoleDustin Hoffman, Kramer vs. Kramer
Jack Lemmon, The China Syndrome
Al Pacino, …And Justice for All
Roy Scheider, All That Jazz
Peter Sellers, Being There
Actress in a Leading RoleJill Clayburgh, Starting Over
Sally Field, Norma Rae
Jane Fonda, The China Syndrome
Marsha Mason, Chapter Two
Bette Midler, The Rose
Actor in a Supporting RoleMelvyn Douglas, Being There
Robert Duvall, Apocalypse Now
Frederic Forrest, The Rose
Justin Henry, Kramer vs. Kramer
Mickey Rooney, The Black Stallion
Actress in a Supporting RoleJane Alexander, Kramer vs. Kramer
Barbara Barrie, Breaking Away
Candice Bergen, Starting Over
Mariel Hemingway, Manhattan
Meryl Streep, Kramer vs. Kramer
DirectingRobert Benton, Kramer vs. Kramer
Francis Coppola, Apocalypse Now
Bob Fosse, All That Jazz
Edouard Molinaro, La Cage aux Folles
Peter Yates, Breaking Away
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen and Marshall Brickman, Manhattan
Robert Alan Aurthur and Bob Fosse, All That Jazz
Valerie Curtin and Barry Levinson, …And Justice for All
Mike Gray, T.S. Cook and James Bridges, The China Syndrome
Steve Tesich, Breaking Away
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumRobert Benton, Kramer vs. Kramer
Allan Burns, A Little Romance
John Milius and Francis Coppola, Apocalypse Now
Irving Ravetch and Harriet Frank, Jr., Norma Rae
Francis Veber, Edouard Molinaro, Marcello Danon and Jean Poiret, La Cage Aux Folles
CinematographyNestor Almendros, Kramer vs. Kramer
William A. Fraker, 1941
Frank Phillips, The Black Hole
Giuseppe Rotunno, All That Jazz
Vittorio Storaro, Apocalypse Now
Art DirectionGeorge Jenkins, art direction; Arthur Jeph Parker, set decoration, The China Syndrome
Harold Michelson, Joe Jennings, Leon Harris and John Vallone, art direction; Linda DeScenna, set decoration, Star Trek—The Motion Picture
Philip Rosenberg and Tony Walton, art direction; Edward Stewart and Gary Brink, set decoration, All That Jazz
Michael Seymour, Les Dilley and Roger Christian, art direction; lan Whittaker, set decoration, Alien
Dean Tavoularis and Angelo Graham, art direction; George R. Nelson, set decoration, Apocalypse Now
SoundRobert Knudson, Robert J. Glass, Don MacDougall and Gene S. Cantamessa, 1941
William McCaughey, Aaron Rochin, Michael J. Kohut and Jack Solomon, Meteor
Walter Murch, Mark Berger, Richard Beggs and Nat Boxer, Apocalypse Now
Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Michael Minkler and Al Overton, The Electric Horseman
Theodore Soderberg, Douglas Williams, Paul Wells and Jim Webb, The Rose
Original Song“I'll Never Say `Goodbye',” The Promise, David Shire, music; Alan and Marilyn Bergman, lyrics
“It Goes Like It Goes,” Norma Rae, music by David Shire; lyrics by Norman Gimbel
“It's Easy to Say,” 10, Henry Mancini, music; Robert Wells, lyrics
“The Rainbow Connection,” The Muppet Movie, Paul Williams and Kenny Ascher, music and lyrics
“Through the Eyes of Love,” Ice Castles, Marvin Hamlisch, music; Carole Bayer Sager, lyrics
Original ScoreGeorges Delerue, A Little Romance
Jerry Goldsmith, Star Trek—The Motion Picture
Dave Grusin, The Champ
Henry Mancini, 10
Lalo Schifrin, The Amityville Horror
Original Song Score and Its Adaptation or Adaptation ScoreRalph Burns, All That Jazz
Patrick Williams, Breaking Away
Paul Williams and Kenny Ascher, song; Paul Williams, adaptation, The Muppet Movie
Film EditingRobert Dalva, The Black Stallion
Jerry Greenberg, Kramer vs. Kramer
Alan Heim, All That Jazz
Richard Marks, Walter Murch, Gerald B. Greenberg and Lisa Fruchtman, Apocalypse Now
Robert L. Wolfe and C. Timothy O'Meara, The Rose
Costume DesignJudy Moorcroft, The Europeans
Shirley Russell, Agatha
William Ware Theiss, Butch and Sundance: The Early Days
Piero Tosi and Ambra Danon, La Cage aux Folles
Albert Wolsky, All That Jazz
Visual EffectsPeter Ellenshaw, Art Cruickshank, Eustace Lycett, Danny Lee, Harrison Ellenshaw and Joe Hale, The Black Hole
William A. Fraker, A. D. Flowers and Gregory Jein, 1941
H.R. Giger, Carlo Rambaldi, Brian Johnson, Nick Allder and Denys Ayling, Alien
Derek Meddings, Paul Wilson and John Evans, Moonraker
Douglas Trumbull, John Dykstra, Richard Yuricich, Robert Swarthe, Dave Stewart and Grant McCune, Star Trek—The Motion Picture
Short Films
AnimatedDream Doll (Bob Godfrey Films/Zagreb Films/Halas and Batchelor; FilmWright)
Every Child (Derek Lamb, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
It's So Nice to Have a Wolf Around the House (Paul Fierlinger, producer; AR&T Productions for Learning Corporation of America)
Live ActionBoard and Care (Sarah Pillsbury and Ron Ellis, producers; Ron Ellis Films)
Bravery in the Field (Roman Kroitor and Stefan Wodoslawsky, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
Oh Brother, My Brother (Carol Lowell and Ross Lowell, producers; Pyramid Films, Inc.)
The Solar Film (Saul Bass and Michael Britton, producers; Wildwood Enterprises Inc.)
Solly's Diner (Harry Mathias, Jay Zukerman and Larry Hankin, producers; Mathias/Zukerman/Hankin Productions)
Short SubjectDae (Risto Teofilovski, producer; Vardar Film/Skopje)
Koryo Celadon (Donald A. Connolly and James R. Messenger, producers; Charlie/Papa Productions, Inc.)
Nails (Phillip Borsos, producer; National Film Board of Canada)
Paul Robeson: Tribute to an Artist (Saul J. Turell, producer; Janus Films, Inc.)
Remember Me (Dick Young, producer; Dick Young Productions, Ltd.)
FeatureBest Boy (Ira Wohl, producer; Only Child Motion Pictures, Inc.)
Generation on the Wind (David A. Vassar, producer; More Than One Medium)
Going the Distance (Paul Cowan and Jacques Bobet, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
The Killing Ground (Steve Singer and Tom Priestley, producers; ABC News Closeup Unit)
The War at Home (Glenn Silber and Barry Alexander Brown, producers; Catalyst Films/Madison Film Production Co.)
Foreign Language FilmThe Maids of Wilko, Poland
Mama Turns a Hundred, Spain
A Simple Story, France
The Tin Drum, Federal Republic of Germany—West
To Forget Venice, Italy
Irving G. Thalberg Memorial AwardRay Stark
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardRobert Benjamin
Honorary AwardsTo Hal Elias for his dedication and distinguished service to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
To Alec Guinness for advancing the art of screen acting through a host of memorable and distinguished performances
John O. Aalberg, Charles G. Clarke and John G. Frayne in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Special Achievement Award
Sound EditingAlan Splet, The Black Stallion

Sources +