1978 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1978 Academy Awards were presented April 91, 1979 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureComing Home, Jerome Hellman, producer (United Artists)
The Deer Hunter, Barry Spikings, Michael Deeley, Michael Cimino and John Peverall, producers (Universal)
Heaven Can Wait, Warren Beatty, producer (Paramount)
Midnight Express, Alan Marshall and David Puttnam, producers (Columbia)
An Unmarried Woman, Paul Mazursky and Tony Ray, producers (Twentieth Century-Fox)
Actor in a Leading RoleWarren Beatty, Heaven Can Wait
Gary Busey, The Buddy Holly Story
Robert De Niro, The Deer Hunter
Laurence Olivier, The Boys From Brazil
Jon Voight, Coming Home
Actress in a Leading RoleIngrid Bergman, Autumn Sonata
Ellen Burstyn, Same Time, Next Year
Jill Clayburgh, An Unmarried Woman
Jane Fonda, Coming Home
Geraldine Page, Interiors
Actor in a Supporting RoleBruce Dern, Coming Home
Richard Farnsworth, Comes a Horseman
John Hurt, Midnight Express
Christopher Walken, The Deer Hunter
Jack Warden, Heaven Can Wait

Christopher Walken, The Deer Hunter
Archive Photos
Actress in a Supporting RoleDyan Cannon, Heaven Can Wait
Penelope Milford, Coming Home
Maggie Smith, California Suite
Maureen Stapleton, Interiors
Meryl Streep, The Deer Hunter
DirectingWoody Allen, Interiors
Hal Ashby, Coming Home
Warren Beatty and Buck Henry, Heaven Can Wait
Michael Cimino, The Deer Hunter
Alan Parker, Midnight Express
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenWoody Allen, Interiors
Ingmar Bergman, Autumn Sonata
Michael Cimino, Deric Washburn, Louis Garfinkle and Quinn K. Redeker, story; Deric Washburn, screenplay, The Deer Hunter
Nancy Dowd, story; Waldo Salt and Robert C. Jones, screenplay, Coming Home
Paul Mazursky, An Unmarried Woman
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumElaine May and Warren Beatty, Heaven Can Wait
Walter Newman, Bloodbrothers
Neil Simon, California Suite
Bernard Slade, Same Time, Next Year
Oliver Stone, Midnight Express
CinematographyNestor Almendros, Days of Heaven
William A. Fraker, Heaven Can Wait
Oswald Morris, The Wiz
Robert Surtees, Same Time, Next Year
Vilmos Zsigmond, The Deer Hunter
Art DirectionMel Bourne, art direction; Daniel Robert, set decoration, Interiors
Albert Brenner, art direction; Marvin March, set decoration, California Suite
Paul Sylbert and Edwin O'Donovan, art direction; George Gaines, set decoration, Heaven Can Wait
Dean Tavoularis and Angelo Graham, art direction; George R. Nelson and Bruce Kay, set decoration, The Brink's Job
Tony Walton and Philip Rosenberg, art direction; Edward Stewart and Robert Drumheller, set decoration, The Wiz
SoundRobert Knudson, Robert J. Glass, Don MacDougall and Jack Solomon, Hooper
Gordon K. McCallum, Graham Hartstone, Nicholas Le Messurier and Roy Charman, Superman
Richard Portman, William McCaughey, Aaron Rochin and Darin Knight, The Deer Hunter
Tex Rudloff, Joel Fein, Curly Thirlwell and Willie Burton, The Buddy Holly Story
John K. Wilkinson, Robert W. Glass, Jr., John T. Reitz and Barry Thomas, Days of Heaven
Original Song“Hopelessly Devoted to You,” Grease, John Farrar, music and lyrics
“Last Dance,” Thank God It's Friday, Paul Jabara, music and lyrics
“The Last Time I Felt Like This,” Same Time, Next Year, Marvin Hamlisch, music; Alan and Marilyn Bergman, lyrics
“Ready to Take a Chance Again,” Foul Play, Charles Fox, music; Norman Gimbel, lyrics
“When You're Loved,” The Magic of Lassie, Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman, music and lyrics
Original ScoreJerry Goldsmith, The Boys From Brazil
Dave Grusin, Heaven Can Wait
Giorgio Moroder, Midnight Express
Ennio Morricone, Days of Heaven
John Williams, Superman
Adaptation ScoreQuincy Jones, The Wiz
Joe Renzetti, The Buddy Holly Story
Jerry Wexler, Pretty Baby
Film EditingStuart Baird, Superman
Gerry Hambling, Midnight Express
Robert E. Swink, The Boys From Brazil
Don Zimmerman, Coming Home
Peter Zinner, The Deer Hunter
Costume DesignRenie Conley, Caravans
Patricia Norris, Days of Heaven
Anthony Powell, Death on the Nile
Tony Walton, The Wiz
Paul Zastupnevich, The Swarm
Short Films
AnimatedOh My Darling (Nico Crama, producer; Nico Crama Productions)
Rip Van Winkle (Will Vinton, producer; Will Vinton Productions)
Special Delivery (Eunice Macaulay and John Weldon, producers; National Film Board of Canada)
Live ActionA Different Approach (Jim Belcher and Fern Field, producers; Jim Belcher/Brookfield Production)
Mandy's Grandmother (Andrew Sugerman, producer; Illumination Films)
Strange Fruit (Seth Pinsker, producer; American Film Institute)
Teenage Father (Taylor Hackford, producer; New Visions Inc. for the Children's Home Society of California)
Short SubjectThe Divided Trail: A Native American Odyssey (Jerry Aronson, producer; Jerry Aronson Production)
An Encounter With Faces (K. K. Kapil, producer; Films Division, Government of India)
The Flight of the Gossamer Condor (Jacqueline Phillips Shedd and Ben Shedd, producers; Shedd Production)
Goodnight Miss Ann (August Cinquegrana, producer; August Cinquegrana Films Production)
Squires of San Quentin (J. Gary Mitchell, producer; J. Gary Mitchell Film Company)
FeatureThe Lovers' Wind (Ministry of Culture and Arts of Iran)
Mysterious Castles of Clay (Survival Anglia Ltd. Production)
Raoni (Franco-Brazilian Production)
Scared Straight! (Golden West Television Production)
With Babies and Banners: Story of the Women's Emergency Brigade (Women's Labor History Film Project Production)
Foreign Language FilmGet Out Your Handkerchiefs, France
The Glass Cell, German Federal Republic—West
Hungarians, Hungary
Viva Italia!, Italy
White Bim Black Ear, U.S.S.R.
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian AwardLeo Jaffe
Honorary AwardsTo Walter Lantz for bringing joy and laughter to every part of the world through his unique animated motion pictures
To Laurence Olivier for the full body of his work, for the unique achievements of his entire career and his lifetime of contribution to the art of film
To King Vidor for his incomparable achievements as a cinematic creator and innovator
To the Museum of Modern Art Department of Film for the contribution it has made to the public's perception of movies as an art form
To Linwood G. Dunn, Loren L. Ryder and Waldon O. Watson in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Special Achievement Award
Visual EffectsLes Bowie, Colin Chilvers, Denys Coop, Roy Field, Derek Meddings and Zoran Perisic, Superman

Sources +