1980 Academy Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 1980 Academy Awards were presented March 31, 1981 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Los Angeles.

Best PictureCoal Miner's Daughter, Bernard Schwartz, producer (Universal)
The Elephant Man, Jonathan Sanger, producer (Paramount)
Ordinary People, Ronald L. Schwary, producer (Paramount)
Raging Bull, Irwin Winkler and Robert Chartoff, producers (United Artists)
Tess, Claude Berri, producer; Timothy Burrill, co-producer (Columbia)

Ordinary People
Archive Photos
Actor in a Leading RoleRobert De Niro, Raging Bull
Robert Duvall, The Great Santini
John Hurt, The Elephant Man
Jack Lemmon, Tribute
Peter O'Toole, The Stunt Man
Actress in a Leading RoleEllen Burstyn, Resurrection
Goldie Hawn, Private Benjamin
Mary Tyler Moore, Ordinary People
Gena Rowlands, Gloria
Sissy Spacek, Coal Miner's Daughter
Actor in a Supporting RoleJudd Hirsch, Ordinary People
Timothy Hutton, Ordinary People
Michael O'Keefe, The Great Santini
Joe Pesci, Raging Bull
Jason Robards, Melvin and Howard
Actress in a Supporting RoleEileen Brennan, Private Benjamin
Eva Le Gallienne, Resurrection
Cathy Moriarty, Raging Bull
Diana Scarwid, Inside Moves
Mary Steenburgen, Melvin and Howard
DirectingDavid Lynch, The Elephant Man
Roman Polanski, Tess
Robert Redford, Ordinary People
Richard Rush, The Stunt Man
Martin Scorsese, Raging Bull
Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenBo Goldman, Melvin and Howard
Christopher Gore, Fame
Jean Gruault, Mon Oncle D'Amerique
Nancy Meyers, Charles Shyer and Harvey Miller, Private Benjamin
W. D. Richter, screenplay; W. D. Richter and Arthur Ross, story, Brubaker
Screenplay Based on Material From Another MediumChristopher DeVore, Eric Bergren and David Lynch, The Elephant Man
Jonathan Hardy, David Stevens and Bruce Beresford, Breaker Morant
Lawrence B. Marcus and Richard Rush, The Stunt Man
Tom Rickman, Coal Miner's Daughter
Alvin Sargent, Ordinary People
CinematographyNestor Almendros, The Blue Lagoon
Ralf D. Bode, Coal Miner's Daughter
Michael Chapman, Raging Bull
James Crabe, The Formula
Geoffrey Unsworth and Ghislain Cloquet, Tess
Art DirectionJohn W. Corso, art direction; John M. Dwyer, set decoration, Coal Miner's Daughter
Stuart Craig and Bob Cartwright, art direction; Hugh Scaife, set decoration, The Elephant Man
Pierre Guffroy and Jack Stephens, art direction, Tess
Yoshiro Muraki, art direction, Kagemusha (The Shadow Warrior)
Norman Reynolds, Leslie Dilley, Harry Lange and Alan Tomkins, art direction; Michael Ford, set decoration, The Empire Strikes Back
SoundMichael J. Kohut, Aaron Rochin, Jay M. Harding and Chris Newman, Fame
Donald O. Mitchell, Bill Nicholson, David J. Kimball and Les Lazarowitz, Raging Bull
Arthur Piantadosi, Les Fresholtz, Michael Minkler and Willie D. Burton, Altered States
Richard Portman, Roger Heman and Jim Alexander, Coal Miner's Daughter
Bill Varney, Steve Maslow, Gregg Landaker and Peter Sutton, The Empire Strikes Back
Original Song“Fame,” Fame, Michael Gore, music; Dean Pitchford, lyrics
“Nine to Five,” Nine to Five, Dolly Parton, music and lyrics
“On the Road Again,” Honeysuckle Rose, Willie Nelson, music and lyrics
“Out Here on My Own,” Fame, Michael Gore, music; Lesley Gore, lyrics
“People Alone,” The Competition, Lalo Schifrin, music; Wilbur Jennings, lyrics
Original ScoreJohn Corigliano, Altered States
Michael Gore, Fame
John Morris, The Elephant Man
Philippe Sarde, Tess
John Williams, The Empire Strikes Back
Film EditingDavid Blewitt, The Competition
Anne V. Coates, The Elephant Man
Gerry Hambling, Fame
Arthur Schmidt, Coal Miner's Daughter
Thelma Schoonmaker, Raging Bull
Costume DesignJean-Pierre Dorleac, Somewhere in Time
Patricia Norris, The Elephant Man
Anthony Powell, Tess
Anna Senior, My Brilliant Career
Paul Zastupnevich, When Time Ran Out
Short Films
AnimatedAll Nothing (Frédéric Back, producer; Société Radio Canada)
The Fly (Ferenc Rofusz, producer; Pannonia Film)
History of the World in Three Minutes Flat (Michael Mills, producer; Michael Mills Productions Ltd.)
Dramatic Live ActionThe Dollar Bottom (Rocking Horse Films, Ltd.; Paramount)
Fall Line (Bob Carmichael and Greg Lowe, producers; Sports Imagery, Inc.)
A Jury of Her Peers (Sally Heckel, producer; Sally Heckel Productions)
Short SubjectDon't Mess With Bill (John Watson and Pen Densham, producers; John Watson and Pen Densham's Insight Productions Inc.)
The Eruption of Mount St. Helens (George Casey, producer; Graphic Films Corporation)
It's the Same World (Dick Young, producer; Dick Young Productions, Ltd.)
Karl Hess: Toward Liberty (Roland Hallé and Peter W. Ladue, producers; Hallé/Ladue, Inc.)
Luther Metke at 94, U.C.L.A. (Richard Hawkins and Jorge Preloran, producers; U.C.L.A. Ethnographic Film Program)
FeatureAgee (Ross Spears, producer; James Agee Film Project)
The Day After Trinity (Jon Else, producer; Jon Else Productions)
From Mao to Mozart: Isaac Stern in China (Murray Lerner, producer; The Hopewell Foundation)
Front Line (David Bradbury, producer; David Bradbury Productions)
The Yellow Star—The Persecution of the Jews in Europe, 1933—45 (Bengt von zur Muehlen and Arthur Cohn, producers; Chronos Film GmbH)
Foreign Language FilmConfidence, Hungary
Kagemusha (The Shadow Warrior), Japan
The Last Metro, France
Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears, U.S.S.R.
The Nest, Spain
Special Achievement Award
Visual EffectsBrian Johnson, Richard Edlund, Dennis Muren and Bruce Nicholson, The Empire Strikes Back
Honorary AwardsTo Henry Fonda, the consummate actor, in recognition of his brilliant accomplishments and enduring contribution to the art of motion pictures
To Fred Hynes in appreciation for outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Sources +