North America Map: Regions, Geography, Facts & Figures

North America is the world's third largest continent, covering an area of approximately 24.5 million square kilometers. It is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and South America to the southeast. The continent is home to diverse landscapes, including the Rocky Mountains, the Great Plains, and the Canadian Shield. North America is also known for its iconic landmarks, such as the Grand Canyon and Niagara Falls.

If you want to discover more in-depth information on North America as a continent, check out our Canada ProfileUnited States Profile, and Mexico Profile!

Test your continent knowledge with our North American arts and culture quiz, North American Mythological Creatures!

Click on a country for a more detailed map, or try our map index.

History of North America

The continent of North America has a rich history, starting with the Native American tribes who inhabited the land long before any Europeans arrived. In 1492, Christopher Columbus arrived from Europe and is credited with discovering the continent. Amerigo Vespucci, an Italian explorer, also explored the continent and is where the name "America" comes from. Over the years, North America has seen colonization, wars, and the formation of independent countries.

Geography of North America

The North American continent is home to major bodies of water, including the Great Lakes, and a variety of coastal stretches that border the Bering Strait, the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the North Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean Sea.

Some of the countries located in North America are Canada, the USA, Mexico, Panama, and the Caribbean Islands. Major cities in North America include New York City, Mexico City, and the capital cities of various countries located on the continent. The stunning views, national parks, and natural landmarks are some of the natural attractions in North America — and even on the world map.

  • North American Countries: North America is home to 23 countries, including Canada, Mexico, the United States of America, Panama, and various Caribbean Islands.

  • U.S. States: The USA is divided into 50 states, each with its own unique attractions and landmarks.

  • Lakes, Oceans, and Seas: North America is surrounded by major bodies of water, including the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, and the Caribbean Sea.

  • Capital Cities: North America is home to various capital cities, including Mexico City, Washington D.C., and Ottawa.

  • National Parks: North America is home to many national parks, including Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, Banff National Park in Alberta, and Glacier Bay National Park in Alaska.

    Tourist Attractions in North America

North America is home to various tourist attractions that draw millions of visitors every year. Some of the popular destinations include:

  • Niagara Falls, Canada/USA: Niagara Falls is a group of three waterfalls located on the Niagara River on the border between Canada and the USA.

  • Cancun, Mexico: Cancun is a popular tourist destination in Mexico, known for its beaches, nightlife, and resorts.

  • Panama Canal, Panama: The Panama Canal is a man-made waterway that connects the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic Ocean.

  • New York City, USA: NYC is a bustling metropolis, famous for its landmarks, museums, and cultural diversity.

  • Caribbean Islands: The islands of the Caribbean are a popular tourist destination, beloved for their sandy beaches, crystal clear waters, and tropical climate.

Lake Tahoe, USA
Image Source: Getty Images

People Also Ask...

If you're inspecting continent maps of North America, you may have some queries about the region. Here are some of the most frequently asked questions, along with their answers.

How Many Countries Are in North America?

North America is made up of 23 countries, including the United States, Canada, Mexico, and several Caribbean islands. Central America, which connects North and South America, is often considered part of North America as well. However, some geographers differentiate Central America as a separate region.

The other 20 countries that can be included in North America, according to a political map, are:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda.

  2. The Bahamas.

  3. Barbados.

  4. Belize.

  5. Costa Rica.

  6. Cuba.

  7. Dominica.

  8. The Dominican Republic.

  9. El Salvador.

  10. Grenada.

  11. Guatemala.

  12. Haiti.

  13. Honduras.

  14. Jamaica.

  15. Nicaragua.

  16. Panama.

  17. Saint Kitts and Nevis.

  18. Saint Lucia.

  19. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

  20. Trinidad and Tobago.

Note: Puerto Rico is also considered part of North America, though it is classified as an unincorporated territory of the U.S. in the Caribbean Sea.

Why Is It Called North America?

North America is named after the Italian explorer Amerigo Vespucci, who explored the continent between 1497 and 1502. The name "America" was first used in a 1507 map created by German cartographer Martin Waldseemüller, and was later extended to include both North and South America.

Is Mexico Part of North America?

Mexico is part of North America. It is located in the southern region of North America and shares a border with the United States to the north. Mexico is the third largest country in North America, after Canada and the United States, and is known for its vibrant culture, delicious cuisine, and rich history.

Country Maps: North America



Regional Maps: North America




Territory and Dependency Maps: North America



World Map