Cabinet Members Under Truman

Updated June 26, 2019 | Infoplease Staff
Secretary of State E. R. Stettinius, Jr. (Cont.)
James F. Byrnes, 1945
George C. Marshall, 1947
Dean Acheson, 1949
Secretary of the Treasury Henry Morgenthau, Jr. (Cont.)
Frederick M. Vinson, 1945
John W. Snyder, 1946
Secretary of Defense James Forrestal, 1947
Louis A. Johnson, 1949
George C. Marshall, 1950
Robert A. Lovett, 1951
Attorney General Francis Biddle (Cont.)
Tom C. Clark, 1945
J. Howard McGrath, 1949
James P. McGranery, 1952
Postmaster General Frank C. Walker (Cont.)
Robert E. Hannegan, 1945
Jesse M. Donaldson, 1947
Secretary of the Interior Harold L. Ickes (Cont.)
Julius A. Krug, 1946
Oscar L. Chapman, 1949
Secretary of Agriculture Claude R. Wickard (Cont.)
Clinton P. Anderson, 1945
Charles F. Brannan, 1948
Secretary of Commerce Henry A. Wallace (Cont.)
W. Averell Harriman, 1946
Charles Sawyer, 1948
Secretary of Labor Frances Perkins (Cont.)
Lewis B. Schwellenbach, 1945
Maurice J. Tobin, 1948
Secretary of War1Henry L. Stimson (Cont.)
Robert P. Patterson, 1945
Kenneth C. Royall, 1947
Secretary of the Navy1James Forrestal (Cont.)
1. On July 26, 1947, the Departments of War and of the Navy were incorporated into the Department of Defense.

Cabinet Members Under F. D. RooseveltGovernment OfficialsCabinet Members Under Eisenhower
Cabinet Members with Dates of Appointment
Sources +