Expansion/Merger Timetable

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

For teams currently in NHL.

1919-Quebec Bulldogs finally take the ice after sitting out NHL's first two seasons; 1924-Boston Bruins and Montreal Maroons; 1925-New York Americans and Pittsburgh Pirates; 1926-Chicago Black Hawks (now Blackhawks), Detroit Cougars (now Red Wings) and New York Rangers; 1932-Ottawa Senators return after sitting out 1931-32 season.

1967-California-Oakland Seals (later Cleveland Barons), Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota North Stars, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and St. Louis Blues.

1970-Buffalo Sabres and Vancouver Canucks; 1972-Atlanta Flames (now Calgary) and New York Islanders; 1974-Kansas City Scouts (now New Jersey Devils) and Washington Capitals; 1978-Cleveland Barons merge with Minnesota North Stars (now Dallas Stars) and team remains in Minnesota; 1979-added WHA's Edmonton Oilers, Hartford Whalers (now Carolina Hurricanes), Quebec Nordiques (now Colorado Avalanche) and Winnipeg Jets (now Phoenix Coyotes).

1991-San Jose Sharks; 1992-Ottawa Senators and Tampa Bay Lightning; 1993-Mighty Ducks of Anaheim and Florida Panthers; 1998-Nashville Predators; 1999-Atlanta Thrashers.

2000-Columbus Blue Jackets and Minnesota Wild.

Sources +