Through the Years: NHL City and Nickname Changes

Updated August 28, 2020 | Infoplease Staff

1919—Toronto Arenas renamed St. Pats; 1920—Quebec Bulldogs move to Hamilton and becomes Tigers (will fold in 1925); 1926—Toronto St. Pats renamed Maple Leafs; 1929—Detroit Cougars renamed Falcons.

1930—Pittsburgh Pirates move to Philadelphia and become Quakers (will fold in 1931); 1932—Detroit Falcons renamed Red Wings; 1934—Ottawa Senators move to St. Louis and become Eagles (will fold in 1935); 1941—New York Americans renamed Brooklyn Americans (will fold in 1942).

1967—California Seals renamed Oakland Seals three months into first season; 1970—Oakland Seals renamed California Golden Seals; 1975—California Golden Seals renamed Seals; 1976—California Seals move to Cleveland and become Barons, while Kansas City Scouts move to Denver and become Colorado Rockies; 1978—Cleveland Barons merge with Minnesota North Stars and become Minnesota North Stars.

1980—Atlanta Flames move to Calgary; 1982—Colorado Rockies move to East Rutherford, N.J., and become New Jersey Devils; 1986—Chicago Black Hawks renamed Blackhawks; 1993—Minnesota North Stars move to Dallas and become Stars. 1995—Quebec Nordiques move to Denver and become Colorado Avalanche; 1996—Winnipeg Jets move to Phoenix and become Coyotes; 1997—Hartford Whalers move to Greensboro, N.C. and become Carolina Hurricanes; 1999—Carolina Hurricanes move to Raleigh, N.C.

2006 —Mighty Ducks of Anaheim become the Ducks of Anaheim.

Sources +