European/South American Cup

European/South American Cup

Also known as the Toyota Cup and Intercontinental Cup. Contested annually in December between the winners of the European Champions League (formerly European Cup) and South America's Copa Libertadores for the unofficial World Club Championship. Four European Cup winners refused to participate in the championship match in the 1970s and were replaced each time by the European Cup runner-up: Panathinaikos (Greece) for Ajax Amsterdam (Netherlands) in 1971; Juventus (Italy) for Ajax in 1973; Atltico Madrid (Spain) for Bayern Munich (West Germany) in 1974; and Malmo (Sweden) for Nottingham Forest (England) in 1979. Another European Cup winner, Marseille of France, was prohibited by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) from playing for the 1993 Toyota Cup because of its involvement in a match-rigging scandal.

Best-of-three game format from 1960-68, then a two-game/total goals format from 1969-79. Toyota became Cup sponsor in 1980, changed the format to a one-game championship and moved it to Toyko.

Multiple winners: AC Milan, Boca Juniors, Nacional, Penarol and Real Madrid (3); Ajax Amsterdam, Bayern Munich, Independiente, Inter Milan, Juventus, Santos and Sao Paulo (2).

1960 Real Madrid (Spain)
1961 Penarol (Uruguay)
1962 Santos (Brazil)
1963 Santos (Brazil)
1964 Inter Milan (Italy)
1965 Inter Milan (Italy)
1966 Penarol (Uruguay)
1967 Racing Club (Argentina)
1968 Estudiantes (Argentina)
1969 AC Milan (Italy)
1970 Feyenoord (Netherlands)
1971 Nacional (Uruguay)
1972 Ajax Amsterdam (Netherlands)
1973 Independiente (Argentina)
1974 Atltico Madrid (Spain)
1975 Not held
1976 Bayern Munich (W. Germany)
1977 Boca Juniors (Argentina)
1978 Not held
1979 Olimpia (Paraguay)
1980 Nacional (Uruguay)
1981 Flamengo (Brazil)
1982 Penarol (Uruguay)
1983 Gremio (Brazil)
1984 Independiente (Argentina)
1985 Juventus (Italy)
1986 River Plate (Argentina)
1987 FC Porto (Portugal)
1988 Nacional (Uruguay)
1989 AC Milan (Italy)
1990 AC Milan (Italy)
1991 Red Star (Yugoslavia)
1992 Sao Paulo (Brazil)
1993 Sao Paulo (Brazil)
1994 Velez Sarsfield (Argentina)
1995Ajax Amsterdam (Netherlands)
1996Juventus (Italy)
1997Borussia Dortmund (Germany)
1998Real Madrid (Spain)
1999Manchester United (England)
2000Boca Juniors (Argentina)
2001Bayern Munich (Germany)
2002 Real Madrid (Spain)
2003 Boca Juniors (Argentina)

Club CompetitionEuropean Cup/UEFA Champions League
Club Competition
See also: