1996-97 Season: Heisman Trophy Vote

Players of the Year

Danny WuerffelCamp, Heisman, Maxwell, The Sporting News

Position Players of the Year

O'Brien Award (Quarterback)Danny Wuerffel, Florida
Unitas Award (Senior QB)Danny Wuerffel
Walker Award (Running Back)Byron Hanspard, Texas Tech
Biletnikoff Award (Receiver)Marcus Harris, Wyoming
Groza Award (Kicker)Marc Primanti, N.C. State
Outland Trophy (Interior Lineman)Orlando Pace, Ohio St.
Lombardi Award (Lineman)Orlando Pace
Butkus Award (Linebacker)Matt Russell, Colorado
Thorpe Award (Defensive Back)Lawrence Wright, Florida
Nagurski Award (Defensive Player)Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
Payton Award (IAA Player of the Year)Archie Amerson, N. Arizona
Buchanan Award (IAA Defensive Player)Dexter Coakley, Appalachian St.
Hill Trophy (Div. II Player of the Year)Jarrett Anderson, Truman St.

Coach of the Year

Bruce Snyder, Arizona St.AFCA, Camp, FWAA, The Sporting News,
Bob Sutton, ArmyDodd

Presented since 1935 by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City and named after former college coach and DAC athletic director John W. Heisman. Voting done by national media and former Heisman winners. Each ballot allows for three names (points based on 3 for 1st, 2 for 2nd and 1 for 3rd).

Top 10 Vote-Getters

Danny Wuerffel, FloridaQB3001581471363
Troy Davis, Iowa St.RB2092061351174
Jake Plummer, Arizona St.QB116113111685
Orlando Pace, Ohio St.OT87101136599
Warrick Dunn, Florida St.RB407669341
Byron Hanspard, Texas TechRB156870251
Darnell Autry, N'westernRB9192085
Peyton Manning, Tenn.QB4232381
Marcus Harris, WyomingWR771853
Beau Morgan, Air ForceQB331126
Note: All players were seniors except juniors Autry, Davis, Hanspard, Manning and Pace.

Single Game Highs1996-97 SeasonConsensus All-America Team
1997 NCAA College Football Season Overview