The Growth of Major League Baseball

Updated September 27, 2017 | Infoplease Staff

The Growth of Major League Baseball

Expansion Timetable (Since 1901)

City and Nickname Changes

National League Pennant Winners from 1876-99

Champions of Leagues That No Longer Exist

The National League (founded in 1876) and the American League (founded in 1901) were both eight-team circuits at the turn of the century and remained that way until expansion finally came to Major League Baseball in the 1960s. The AL added two teams in 1961 and the NL did the same a year later. Both leagues went to 12 teams and split into two divisions in 1969. The AL then grew by two more teams to 14 in 1977, but the NL didn't follow suit until adding its 13th and 14th clubs in 1993. The NL added two teams (making it 16) in 1998 when the expansion Arizona Diamondbacks entered the league and the Milwaukee Brewers moved over from the AL. The Tampa Bay Devil Rays joined the AL in 1998, keeping the AL at 14 teams.

Major League Franchise OriginsThrough The YearsAnnual Batting Leaders (since 1900)
Sources +