1998 Alfred I. duPont — Columbia University Awards in Television and Radio Journalism

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff
Frontline, for remarkable quality and sustained commitment to controversial and sensitive stories as exemplified by four programs: “Murder, Money and Mexico,” “The Choice '96,” “Secret Daughter,” and “Innocence Lost: The Plea” (WGBH–TV, Boston)
Television Awards: PrimeTime Live: “Debt Reckoning” (ABC News); “Why Can't We Live Together?” (NBC News and Scripps Howard News Prods.); “Enter the Jury Room” (CBS News)
Major-Market Television: WABC–TV (New York) for “Room 104: The Overcrowding Crisis,” about a first-grade classroom in Brooklyn
Small-Market Television: Wisconsin Public Television for “Welcome to Poverty Hollow,” which followed three families in an innovative anti-poverty effort in northern Wisconsin that responded to the state's new welfare reform system; KTCA–TV (St. Paul, Minn.) for NewsNight Minnesota: “Unisys,” a series of reports about the impact of downsizing on long-term employees of the Unisys Corporation
Independent Television Productions: The Center for New American Media for “Vote for Me: Politics in America” (PBS); Blowback Productions for “CIA: America's Secret Warriors” (Discovery Channel); Jon Else, Sandra Itkoff, and Marc Reisner for “An American Nile” (PBS); KCET (Los Angeles) and the BBC for “The Great War and the Shaping of the 20th Century” (PBS)
Radio Awards: KUSC (Los Angeles) for Marketplace, which proves that reporting on economic issues can be approached with energy and flair (Public Radio International)

Sources +