2004–2005 Obie Awards

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

The 2004–2005 Obie Awards, honoring distinguished achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway productions, were presented on May 16, 2005, at New York's Webster Hall.

Direction: Dan Wackerman, Counsellor-At-Law;
Ivo van Hove, Hedda Gabler;
Doug Hughes for sustained excellence of direction
Performance: Jeremy Shamos, Engaged;
Elizabeth Marvel, Hedda Gabler;
Jason Butler Harner, Hedda Gabler;
Rosemary Allen, Good Samaritans;
Cherry Jones, Doubt;
Larry Bryggman, Romance;
Kieran Culkin, After Ashley;
Mercedes Ruehl, Woman Before A Glass;
LaChanze, Dessa Rose;
Deidre O'Connell for her sustained excellence of performance
Vivienne Benesch, Going to St. Ives;
L. Scott Caldwell, Going to St. Ives
Design: John Lee Beatty, set design Engaged;
Rui Rita, lighting design Engaged;
Aural Fixation Sound & Music, sound design Engaged;
Catherine Zuber, costume design Engaged;
Thomas Lynch, set design Woman Before A Glass;
Phil Monat, lighting design Woman Before A Glass;
David Van Tieghem, sound design Woman Before A Glass;
Willa Kim, costume design Woman Before A Glass;
Jan Versweyveld, set design Hedda Gabler
Playwriting: Christopher Shinn, Where Do We Live;
John Patrick Shanley, Doubt;
Caryl Churchill, A Number;
Lynn Nottage, Fabulation
Special Citations: The Imagine Festival of Arts, Issues & Ideas;
Hell Meets Henry Halfway;
Sin: A Cardinal Deposed
Sustained Achievement: John Guare
Grants: 13P, Epic Theatre Company, Little Theater at Tonic, Gina Gionfriddo for Distinguished Emerging Playwright, Margo Skinner Memorial Acting Scholarship
Ross Wetzsteon Award: New Dramatists

Sources +