Other American Library Association Awards for Children's Books, 2000

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Also see the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal winnners.

2000 Coretta Scott King Awards, honoring black authors and illustrators: (author):
Bud, Not Buddy, Christopher Paul Curtis (Delacorte Press);
In the Time of the Drums, Brian Pinkney (Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children)
2000 Coretta Scott King Honor Books: (author):
Francie, Karen English (Farrar Straus Giroux);
Black Hands, White Sails: The Story of African-American Whalers, Patricia C. and Frederick L. McKissack (Scholastic Press);
Monster, Walter Dean Myers (HarperCollins);
My Rows and Piles of Coins, E. B. Lewis (Clarion Books);
Black Cat, Christopher Myers (Scholastic Press)
2000 Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature for young adults:Monster, Walter Dean Myers (HarperCollins)
2000 Michael L. Printz Honor Books:Hard Love, Ellen Wittlinger (Simon & Schuster);
Skellig, David Almond (Delacorte Press);
Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson (Farrar Straus Giroux)
2000 Pura Belpré Awards, honoring Latino writers and illustrators (awarded biennially): (author):
Under the Royal Palms: A Childhood in Cuba, Alma Flor Ada (Atheneum Books);
Magic Windows: Cut-paper Art and Stories, illustrated and written by Carmen Lomas Garza (Children's Book Press)
2000 Pura Belpré Honor Awards: (author):
From the Bellybutton of the Moon and Other Summer Poems/Del Ombligo De La Luna Y Otro Poemas De Verano, written by Francisco X. Alarcón , illustrated by Maya Christina Gonzalez (Children's Book Press);
Laughing Out Loud, I Fly: Poems in English and Spanish, written by Juan Felipe Herrera, illustrated by Karen Barbour (HarperCollins);
Barrio: José's Neighborhood, illustrated and written by George Ancona (Harcourt Brace);
The Secret Stars, illustrated by Felipe Dávalos, written by Joseph Slate (Marshall Cavendish);
Mama & Papa Have a Store illustrated and written by Amelia Lau Carling (Dial Books)
2000 Mildred L. Batchelder Award, for best book originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country: The Baboon King, written by Anton Quintana in Dutch and translated by John Nieuwenhuizen (Walker and Company)
2000 Margaret A. Edwards Award, lifetime achievement award for outstanding literature for young adults: Chris Crutcher
2000 Andrew Carnegie Medal, for best children's video:Miss Nelson has a Field Day, based on the book by Harry Allard, produced by Paul R. Gagne, directed and animated by Virginia Wilkos and Ty Varszegi, and distributed by Scholastic, Inc.

Sources +