Other American Library Association Awards for Children's Books, 2001

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Also see the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal winnners.

2001 Coretta Scott King Awards, honoring black authors and illustrators: (author):
Miracle Boys, Jacqueline Woodson (Putnam)
Uptown, Bryan Collier (Henry Holt)
2001 Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature for young adults:Kit's Wilderness, David Almond (Delacorte Press)
2001 Robert F. Sibert Award for informational book: Sir Walter Raleigh and the Quest for El Dorado, Marc Aronson (Clarion)
2001 Margaret A. Edwards Award for a lifetime contribution in writing for young adults: Robert Lipsyte
2001 Mildred L. Batchelder Award, for best book originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country: Samir and Yonatan, written by Daniella Carmi in Hebrew and translated by John Yael Lotan (Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic Press)
2001 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for lasting contributions to children's literature: Milton Meltzer
2001 Andrew Carnegie Medal, for best children's video:Antarctic Antics, based on the book by Judy Sierra, produced by Paul R. Gagne, directed and animated by Gary Goldberger, Peter Reynolds and FableVision Studios and distributed by Scholastic, Inc.

Sources +