Other American Library Association Awards for Children's Books, 1998

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

(For books published in 1997)

Also see the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal winnners.

The Coretta Scott King Award: (author):
Forged by Fire, Sharon Draper (Atheneum);
In Daddy's Arms I Am Tall, Javaka Steptoe (Lee & Low)
Coretta Scott King Honor Books: (author):
I Thought My Soul Would Rise and Fly, Joyce Hansen (Scholastic Press);
Bayard Rustin: Behind the Scenes of the Civil Rights Movement, James Haskins (Hyperion);
Ashley Bryan's ABC of African American Poetry, Ashley Bryan (Atheneum);
The Hunterman and the Crocodile, Baba Wague Diaktie (Scholastic Press);
Harlem, Christopher Myers (Scholastic Press)
The Mildred Batchelder Award, for best book originally published in a foreign language: The Robber and Me, by Josef Holub, originally published in Germany (Henry Holt & Co.)
Margaret A. Edwards Award for Outstanding Literature for Young Adults: Madeleine L'Engle, a lifetime achievement award
The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award for lasting contributions to children's literature: Russell Freedman

Sources +