Other American Library Association Awards for Children's Books, 1997

Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

(For books published in 1996)

Also see the Caldecott Medal and the Newbery Medal winnners.

The Coretta Scott King Award: (author):
SLAM!, Walter Dean Myers (Scholastic Press);
Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman, Jerry Pinkney (Dial)
The Mildred L. Batchelder Award, for the publisher of the most outstanding book originally published in a foreign language: Farrar Straus Giroux, publisher of
The Friends, Kazumi Yumoto, translated from the Japanese by Cathy Hirano
Margaret A. Edwards Award for Outstanding Literature for Young Adults: Gary Paulsen, a lifetime achievement award

Sources +