Updated September 9, 2022 | Infoplease Staff

Since 1950, the Sidney Hillman Foundation has recognized journalists, writers, and public figures who pursue social injustice and public policy for the common good.

Book Robert Kuttner, The Squandering of America: How the Failure of Our Politics Undermines Our Prosperity
Magazine Ray Ring, “Death in the Energy Fields,” High Country News
Newspaper Charles Duhigg, “Golden Opportunities,” The New York Times
Photojournalism Luis Sinco, “The Marlboro Marine: Two lives blurred together by a photo,” Los Angeles Times
Broadcast Bill Moyers and Kathleen Hughes, “Buying the War,” Bill Moyers Journal
Weblog (Blog) Faiz Shakir and Amanda Terkel, www.thinkprogress.org
Officers Award Michael Winship and Patrick M. Verrone, Writers Guild of America, East and Writers Guild of America, West
Sol Stetin Award for Labor History David Brody, University of California, Davis


Book Thomas E. Ricks, Fiasco
Magazine Douglas McGray, “The Invisibles,” West Magazine (Los Angeles Times)
Newspaper Rukmini Maria Callimachi, “Coverage of Hurricane Katrina aftermath,” The Associated Press
Photojournalism Mike Stocker and Joe Amon, “Aids Orphans,” South Florida Sun-Sentinel
Broadcast Spike Lee and Sam Pollard, “When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts,” 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks/HBO
Weblog (Blog) Sam Rosenfeld, Ann Friedman, Garance Franke-Ruta, Ezra Klein, Matthew Yglesias, www.prospect.org/csnc/blogs/tapped


Book Ian Shapiro and Michael Graetz, Death by a Thousand Cuts
Magazine Dave Evans, Mike Smith, Liz Willen, Jonathan Neumann, “Big Pharma's Shameful Secrets,” Bloomberg Markets
Newspaper Cam Simpson, “Pipeline in Peril,” Chicago Tribune
Photojournalism Tom Knudson, Hector Amezcua, “Los Piñeros: Men of the Pines,” Sacramento Bee
Broadcast Craig Cheatham, Jim Thomas and Marty Van Housen, “La Oroya,” KMOV-TV St. Louis
Weblog (Blog) Joshua Micah Marshall for his coverage of Social Security issues in 2005, www.Talkingpointsmemo.com






Sources +