Man Booker Prize

Updated June 14, 2021 | Infoplease Staff

Great novels of the Commonwealth

Britain's most prestigious literary award is presented each Oct. or Nov. by the National Book League in the United Kingdom, for the best full-length novel written in English by a citizen of a current or former British Commonwealth country. The name of the award changed in 2002 from the Booker Prize, or officially the Booker McConnell Prize, to the Man Booker Prize, and the purse increased from $30,000 to about $80,000. (Book's current publisher is listed in parentheses.)

1969Something to Answer For, P. H. Newby (out of print)
1970The Elected Member, Bernice Rubens (Abacus [Little Brown U.K.])
1971In a Free State, V. S. Naipaul (Random House) paper
1972G.: A Novel, John Berger (Vintage) paper
1973The Siege of Krishnapur, J. G. Farrell (Carroll & Graf) paper
1974(tie) The Conservationist, Nadine Gordimer (Viking) paper
 Holiday, Stanley Middleton (out of print)
1975Heat and Dust, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala (Peter Smith)
1976Saville, David Storey (Vintage) U.K.
1977Staying On, Paul Scott (Univ. of Chicago Press) paper
1978The Sea, The Sea, Iris Murdoch (Viking) paper
1979Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald (Mariner) paper
1980Rites of Passage, William Golding (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)
1981Midnight's Children, Salman Rushdie (Knopf)
1982Schindler's List, Thomas Keneally (Simon & Schuster)
1983Life & Times of Michael K, J. M. Coetzee (Viking) paper
1984Hotel du Lac, Anita Brookner (Vintage) paper
1985The Bone People, Keri Hulme (Viking) paper
1986The Old Devils, Kingsley Amis (Penguin) U.K.
1987Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively (Grove/Atlantic) paper
1988Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey (Vintage) paper
1989The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro (Vintage) paper
1990Possession: A Romance, A. S. Byatt (Vintage) paper
1991The Famished Road, Ben Okri (Anchor) paper
1992The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje (Knopf)
 Sacred Hunger, Barry Unsworth (W. W. Norton & Company) paper
1993Paddy Clarke, Ha Ha Ha, Roddy Doyle (Penguin USA) paper
1994How Late It Was, How Late, James Kelman (Delta) paper
1995The Ghost Road, Pat Barker (Dutton)
1996Last Orders, Graham Swift (Knopf)
1997The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy (Random House)
1998Amsterdam, Ian McEwan (Doubleday)
1999Disgrace, J. M. Coetzee (Viking)
2000The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood (Random House)
2001True History of the Kelly Gang, Peter Carey (Knopf)
2002Life of Pi, Yann Martel (Harcourt Brace)
2003Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre (Peter Warren Finlay) (Canongate Pub Ltd)
2004The Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst (Bloomsbury USA)
2005The Sea, John Banville (Vintage)
2006The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai (Grove)
2007The Gathering, Anne Enright (Grove)
2008The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga (Atlantic)
2009Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel (Henry Holt)
2010The Finkler Question, Howard Jacobson (Bloomsbury)
2011The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes (Jonathon Cape)
2012Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel (Fourth Estate)
2013The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton (Granta)
2014The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan (Knopf)
2015A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James (Riverhead Books)
2016The Sellout By Paul Beatty Published by (Oneworld)
2017Lincoln in the Bardo, George Saunders (Bloomsbury Publishing)
2018Milkman, Anna Burns (Faber & Faber)
2019The Testaments, Margaret Atwood (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)
 Girl, Woman, Other, Bernardine Evaristo (Penguin General, Hamish Hamilton)
2020Shuggie Bain, Douglas Stuart (Picador, Pan Macmillan)
Sources +